Foreverword

When I was a child, I spoke like a child…

“When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child; when I became an adult, I put an end to childish ways.”  I Corinthians 13:11

1 Corinthians is known as the “love” chapter. This instructional scripture is also part of that chapter and I find that interesting.

Since I have grandchildren, and one of them is just a little older than a year, she is a baby. I also have one that is 3 1/2 years old. She is a child. I see their childish ways…They are sweet but typical children. They want instant gratification of their own senses, take very little responsibility for their actions, very self-oriented, self-centered, don’t have a long range vision, throw temper tantrums and don’t care who they hurt. That is childish ways.

True or real love causes us to outgrow this behavior–it causes us to take responsibility for our actions, in other words grow up or man-up to our responsibility. True love causes us to think of others, how our actions and decisions will affect them and ourselves. We can choose!

In children we expect this behavior and it is tolerable. In adults it becomes reprehensible and ugly. There are not many people who does not have some kind of childish (or selfish) trait or characteristic but a real woman or real man with true love works at putting that kind of behavior behind them.

Let us all work at becoming “beautiful” people expressing a true love in the adult or responsible way that God calls to. Living a life that rises to a higher plane instead of sinking to a mediocre life or below.

My goal is to press to a higher plane and a higher calling–the goal that puts God first, others ahead of my own needs, and myself last. I haven’t achieved it but am striving toward it.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment