Foreverword

A Dream From God

Have you ever had a dream you knew without a doubt it was from the Lord? I have had several dreams from the Lord but I want to share one particular dream that has influenced my life for the good. This dream encouraged me through the years when I was down and at times seemed to be floundering, not knowing my purpose.

I dreamed I was standing in the middle of a wide river. I was about waist high in the water facing upstream. The river was somewhat turbulent with some white water but I was steady in the river. I then started walking upstream with the water getting a little deeper. Then slowly people started drifting down the river some fighting it and some just letting the river take them wherever it wanted. It upset me and I knew I needed to help them.

I started talking to the people and encouraging them to stand with me and go upstream because I knew what was downstream was bad, ruinous, wrong, loss, suffering and death. Some people listened and started standing beside me walking upstream with me. Then some would reach out their hand to me asking for help. They couldn’t stand up but I could hold them and keep them from going downstream. Some people would hang on to my arm and body and I could help them. Some I just would try to hold with my hand and then they would purposely let go. I felt such anguish and heartbreak when those people just let go into the swirling water being Imagetossed to and fro and for those that wouldn’t even try. All through the dream I kept saying the Lord is good, come stand with me, God can and will save you.

I knew through that dream that the Lord would keep me regardless of what was happening in my life even at times when I was low and struggling. I also knew from that dream that God called me to witness to the lost, to encourage those that believed, to help those that seemed to be weak and to even carry them if necessary. God called me to go against the regular flow of life and to be strong in Him. Through the worst times in my life, God would bring that dream to my mind and I would be encouraged that God was with me!!! There may even be more to that dream and as I need it, God will reveal it to me.

Isaiah 43:2 a, “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they will not overflow you.”

Hebrews 3:1, Therefore, holy brothers and sisters, who share in the heavenly calling, fix your thoughts on Jesus, whom we acknowledge as our apostle and high priest.”

Hebrew 3:12-14 “See to it, brothers and sisters, that none of you has a sinful, unbelieving heart that turns away from the living God. But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called “Today,” so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness. We have come to share in Christ, if indeed we hold our original conviction firmly to the very end.”

Do not be afraid of a dream from the Lord. Throughout the Bible God revealed His will to people through dreams. God spoke to Joseph about Mary in a dream and also to flee to Egypt when Jesus’ life was threatened. Many of the prophets dreamed and also interpreted dreams. When God gives you dream, compare it to the Word of God and the intents of God. Remember in 1 John 4:1, “Beloved, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, for many false prophets have gone out into the world.”

If you believe that God has given you a dream, then it is for a purpose. First, ensure the dream is actually of God by comparing it to scripture and ask for Holy Spirit confirmation. Talk to your pastor or a spiritual friend you trust if you have some doubt. Then ask God for the interpretation of the dream. If it is truly of God then your life will prosper from that dream.

Daniel 2:19, “Then the mystery was revealed to Daniel in a night vision. Then Daniel blessed the God of heaven;”

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A Dream From God

  1. That is amazing! Thank you for sharing something so intimate.

Leave a comment